Chinese
The Top 10 Memory Boosters
(English Translation)      
1. Blueberry and Strawberry
Blueberry has recently become a popular food in the west. Scientists discovered that it contains powerful antioxidants which can slow down aging and offer considerable help in memory enhancement. Dr. Joseph of the Human Nutrition Research Center in Tufts University has presided over an animal study and found that feeding mice with extracts of blueberry, strawberry and spinach, has yielded higher test score in motor function, memory and cognitive. Among them, the group that was fed with blueberry has the best results. Associate Professor S.Y. Huang of the Nutrition and Health Sciences in Taipei Medical University suggested that eating dark-colored fruits, such as grape, cherry, strawberry, and other berries has a similar antioxidant effect.

2. Deep Sea Fish
Mom always says "eat more fish to get smarter." Science has confirmed that there is truth in it. Accumulated studies confirm that fish oil contains omega-3 fatty acids which, besides heart protection and stroke prevention, are a "smart food" good for memories. 50% of our brain consists of unsaturated fat (including omega-3 fatty acids); particularly in the DHA omega-3 is a very important component of cell membranes. To maintain normal operation of the brain, in order for brain cells to transport nutrition and waste, there must be sufficient DHA. Therefore, fish fatty acid can enhance memory and learning ability, and can prevent memory loss.
Harvard University issued a report indicating that, people have high concentrations of DHA in blood are less likely to develop Alzheimer's disease. Experts suggest that eating fish 2 to 3 times a week is the best, especially fish that are rich in DHA including, salmon, tuna sardines, mackerel and so on.

3. Whole Wheat Bread
Whole grain nutrition has been highly recommended as it is rich in vitamins E, B1, folic acid, nicotinic acid and so on. These nutrients are necessary to maintain normal brain functions. A research in Harvard University points out that if 2 to 3 slices of whole wheat bread, cereals, and oatmeal can be used daily instead of white toast, white rice and other refined food, you can purify the blood to reduce artery blockage and lower the risk of stroke by 30 ~ 40%.

4. Spinach
Spinach, known as the "king of vegetables" has high nutritional value. Recent researches suggest that it helps in keeping the brain active. In the University of Southern Florida researchers fed rats with spinach supplements and found them enhanced in learning ability with faster reaction in certain acts. Auspices of this research, Dr Bedford believes that spinach contains a lot of vitamin C, E, radish extracts and antioxidants to protect brain cells from free radicals. For a long time, medical experts suspect free radicals can damage the brain and increase the risk of Alzheimer's disease.

5. Nuts
In spite of the high fat content, nuts are good for the brain because they contain monounsaturated fat. Apart from lowering cholesterol, nuts are also rich in vitamin E, selenium and other antioxidants to protect brain cells from harm by free radicals. According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture, studies found that nuts also contain a mineral - boron (also in fruits and green leaf vegetables), which can affect the brain's electrical activity to enable people with more sensitive response.
However, one must avoid eating too much nuts in a day because they have high-calories. Just eat a small amount of peanuts, almonds and walnuts every day in place of other oil sources. This way, there is no need to worry getting fat.

6. Eggs
Egg yolk, rich in lecithin, is the main raw material in synthetic human acetylcholine (neurotransmitter responsible for memory). In addition, eggs are also rich in vitamins A, E, B6, B12, folic acid and zinc which are important nutrients in activation of the brain, particularly folic acid and vitamin B12. Continued researches indicate that if long-term absence of these two nutrients can cause memory loss and may even increase the chances of suffering from dementia.
As to the question of how many eggs can you eat, "The American Medical Association Journal" has reported that an egg a day would not create high levels of blood lipids. Recently, the Kansas State University's Animal studies have also found that the lecithin in eggs may inhibit the amount of cholesterol into the blood. So eating 1 ~ 2 eggs has limited effect on blood cholesterol levels and is not harmful to the heart.

7. Oatmeal
If you have high cholesterol, you might want to try a bowl of oatmeal every morning. Oat contains soluble fibers called "-polydextrose" that can prevent the making and absorption of cholesterol, thus lowering blood cholesterol levels to reduce the risk of Alzheimer's disease. U.S. studies found that eating 3 grams of oats per day, can make cholesterol levels reduced by 5 to 6 units and at the same time reduce the risk of heart disease by about 12%.

8. Pumpkin, Pumpkin Seeds
Pumpkin is an excellent source of radish, an antioxidant that helps in keeping a healthy brain. Dutch studies found that more the daily dietary intake of food rich in radish (such as dark green leaf vegetables, carrots, peppers, sweet potatoes, papaya, mango, etc.) more critical thinking can be maintained.
Pumpkin seeds contain zinc which is also an important substance for brain functioning. Insufficient zinc is prone to memory loss and lack of attention. In University of Texas, a Ph.D. pointed out that even in healthy people lack a small amount of zinc can cause short-term memory to decline. As long as there is supplement of zinc, for example, women's vocabulary memory will improve by 12%.

9. Tofu
Soy products are rich in phytoestrogens - isoflavones, which is can promote memory function and prevent dementia. In a study abroad students were divided into two groups; one group ate 10 weeks of soy milk, soybean pudding and other soy products and the other group without soy products. The results show the students in the group of having soy product have better memory and faster reaction in the test.

10. Grapefruit
Citrus (oranges, grapefruit, etc.), guava, strawberries, tomatoes, kiwi, broccoli are all rich in vitamin C. Brain cells need vitamin C's antioxidant property to protect them from harm by free radicals.
More importantly, in the synthesis of neurotransmitters, a major role in memory functioning, acetylcholine also needs the presence of vitamin C. Therefore, get at least five servings of vegetables nd fruits to ensure that your body does not lack this important vitamin.

Return to menu
TOC    

Related Topic:
Avoid Alzheimer's Disease

English
十種增強記憶力食物      
(新週刊 1265期 Mar. 27, 2010)      
1. 藍莓、草莓
藍莓最近在西方國家成為一種熱門食物,科學家發現,它所含的強力抗氧化物可能 對於減緩老化、活化腦力和增強記憶力有相當幫助。 美國 Tufts 大學人類營養研究中心的喬瑟夫博士曾主持一項動物實驗,結果發現以 藍莓、草苺、菠菜等萃取物餵食老鼠時,牠們在運動神經功能、記憶力和認知能力 等方面的測驗,都得到比較高的分數,其中又以餵食藍莓的那組老鼠成績最出色。 台北醫學大學保健營養學研究所副教授黃士懿建議,多吃深色水果,例如葡萄、櫻 桃及草莓等莓類水果,也有類似的抗氧化效果。

2. 深海魚
媽媽常叮嚀說,「多吃魚才會變聰明,」科學已經證實,這不是隨便說說而已。 累積了許多研究證實,魚類脂肪(魚油)中所含的omega-3脂肪酸不但能保護心臟、 預防中風,更是讓你頭腦靈光,記憶力佳而快樂不憂鬱的「聰明食物」。
我們腦部50%以上是不飽和脂肪(包括omega-3脂肪酸),尤其omega-3中的DHA是 神經細胞膜中非常重要的成分。要維持大腦神經傳導功能正常運作,幫助腦部細胞 運送營養並清除廢物,都必須有足夠的DHA才能達成。所以,吃魚不但能提高記憶和 學習能力,還能預防記憶力衰退。
哈佛大學的一項研究就發清b,血液中DHA濃度高的人,日後比較不容易罹患阿 茲海默氏症。專家建議每週最好能吃2∼3次魚,尤其要多吃富含DHA的魚,包括:鮭 魚、鮪魚、沙丁魚、鯖魚等。

3. 全麥麵包
全榖類一直是營養界大力推薦的超級食物,富含維生素E及維生素B1、葉酸、菸 鹼酸等,全都是維持正常大腦機能必要的營養素。哈佛大學的研究指出,如果每天 能以2∼3片全麥麵包、早餐榖片、麥片來代替白吐司、白米飯等精緻主食,就可以 使血液清澈,減少動脈阻塞情況,降低30∼40%中風的危險。

4. 菠菜
營養價值極高、被稱為「蔬菜之王」的菠菜,最近有研究認為,它有助於維持 大腦的年輕活力。 美國 South Florida大學的研究人員餵老鼠吃菠菜製成的補充劑,結果發現牠們的 某些行為學習能力增強,反應變快。主持此研究的畢克福特博士認為,菠菜裡含有 大量維生素C、E、beta 蘿蔔素等抗氧化物質,可以保護腦細胞不受自由基損害。長 久以來,醫學界懷疑自由基對腦部造成的傷害,可能會增加罹患阿茲海默氏症的風 險。

5. 堅果
堅果的油脂含量雖高,卻是護心又健腦的好食物。因為它所含的是單元不飽和 脂肪,有降低膽固醇的功能,而且還有豐富的維生素E、硒等抗氧化物質,保護腦細 胞不受到自由基的損害。
根據美國農業部的研究發現,堅果類中還含有一種礦物質--硼(水果及綠色葉 菜中也有),能夠影響腦部的電流活動,使人的反應變得更靈敏。
不過,堅果類熱量高,不宜吃太多,每天只要吃一小把花生、核桃或杏仁,取 代其他油脂來源,就不必擔心會發胖。

6. 雞蛋
蛋黃中富含卵磷脂,是人體合成乙醯膽鹼(負責記憶力的神經傳導物質)的主 要原料。此外,雞蛋中也有豐富的維生素A、E、B6、B12、葉酸和鋅等活化腦力很重 要的營養素,尤其是葉酸和維生素B12。陸續有研究指出,如果長期缺乏這兩種營養 素,會使記憶力減退,甚至可能增加罹患失智症的機率。 至於可以每天吃雞蛋嗎?一天能吃幾顆?
《美國醫學會期刊》曾有報告指出,每天吃1 顆雞蛋,並不用擔心會造成高血 脂的問題。而最近美國 Kansas State University 的動物實驗也發現,雞蛋中的卵 磷脂可以抑制進入血液的膽固醇量,所以每天吃1∼2顆雞蛋,對血中膽固醇濃度的 影響有限,不必擔心會危害心臟。

7. 燕麥
膽固醇過高的人,不妨每天早晨來一碗燕麥片。 燕麥裡含有一種叫作「beta -聚葡萄糖」的可溶性纖維物質,能夠阻礙膽固醇的製 造和吸收,使血液中膽固醇濃度降低,以減少日後罹患阿茲海默氏症的機率。 美國的研究發現,平均每天只要吃3克的燕麥,就可以使膽固醇指數降低5∼6單位, 同時也減少大約12%罹患心臟病的風險。

8. 南瓜、南瓜子
南瓜是 beta 蘿蔔素的極佳來源,這種抗氧化物質可以幫助你擁有健康年輕的 腦力。荷蘭的研究發現,日常飲食攝取多富含蘿蔔素食物(例如深綠色葉菜、胡蘿 蔔、甜椒、蕃薯、木瓜、芒果等)的 人,一生可以維持較敏銳的思考能力。
至於南瓜子中所含的礦物質鋅,也是促進大腦機能的重要物質,如果鋅的攝取 量不足,就容易出現記憶力衰退、注意力不集中的問題。德州大學的山德史岱博士 指出,一般健康的人缺乏少量的鋅,短期記憶力就會衰退,不過只要補足了鋅之後, 舉例來說,女性的文字記憶力就會提高12%。

9. 豆腐
黃豆製品中含有一種植物性雌激素--異黃酮素,被認為對促進記憶力、預防失 智症有幫助。國外一項研究將學生分成兩組,其中一組連續吃10週豆漿、黃豆布丁 等黃豆製成的食物,結果和另一組沒有吃大量黃豆製品的學生相比,記憶力測驗的 成積進步,而且反應也變得比較快。

10. 葡萄柚
番石榴、柑橘類(柳丁、葡萄柚等)、草莓、蕃茄、奇異果、花椰菜等都是富 含維生素C的蔬果,而腦細胞需要維生素C的抗氧化功能來免於自由基破壞。
更重要的,在合成主管記憶力的神經傳導物質--乙醯膽鹼時,也需要維生素C的 參與,所以每天至少吃5份蔬菜水果,確保你的身體不會缺少這個重要的維生素。

Return to menu
menu